Theory - Theory on the major questions : What is in the basement? and the history of humanity | MangaHelpers

• Join in and nominate your favorite shows of the summer season 2023!

Theory Theory on the major questions : What is in the basement? and the history of humanity

vanihba2000

中級員 / Chuukyuuin / Member
Reaction score
Country
India
*MANGA SPOILERS AHEAD*
Hi all.
There are still some pieces left to get an idea of the complete picture of the historical setting in Attack on Titan. But it essentially boils down to the following two questions :

1) What is in the basement in Shinganshina district and how it relates to the historical setting?

1. Since Erwin clearly mentions that whatever is in there holds key to the 'memories of the old world', it's pretty much certain that Grisha left behind memoirs of what it was like before the walls were erected.
  2. Since Grisha had some knowledge of medical science, he was probably a doctor by profession in the old world. He subsequently learns about this new world from Keith Shadis.
  3. There can be two possiblities for what Grisha was doing before taking refuge within the walls.
    a) Like Ymir, Grisha could be a mindless Titan roaming around for over 100 years before happening upon a shifter and eating him/her. If that is so, then it'd be intriguing to know who exactly this shifter was that he swallowed - and how did he end up close to the walls?
    b) Or he could be one of those shifters from the beginning, : either a failed experiment from 100 years ago or a not-so-old spy, from the titan shifter faction, who infiltrated the walls. In the latter case, it wouldn't be so easy to justify how he knows so much about the 'old-world' if at all he does.