The Akika Thread | MangaHelpers

• Join in and nominate your favorite shows of the summer season 2023!

The Akika Thread

akika

Banned
初心者/ Shoshinsha / Beginner
Reaction score
Country
United States
Introduction:

I've been studying Japanese for six years or so. I've passed the JLPT Level 2.

Right now I'm probably not going to actively or consistently work on any new projects until I finish up till volume ten of Sengoku. However, if a title really interests me, I may translate a chapter or two.

So what kind of manga interest me? I prefer the stuff for older readers, like seinen. I like plotful stuff with detailed characterization, and detailed art. My favorite genres are: historical, horror, and sci-fi/fantasy.

I'm afraid I'm not that interested in translating manga that are already being translated currently by other groups. That means none of the uber-popular Weekly Shounen Jump titles like Naruto or KHR. Nothing against these titles, I just don't want to reinvent the wheel.

Genres I'm not interested in translating: Harem. Episodic manga. I find gag manga really frustrating to translate because translating jokes is really difficult.

Genres I'm neutral on: Romance is hit or miss with me. Sometimes I like it, sometimes I don't. Slice of life is also hit or miss.

Anyway, feel free to ask me questions.

GGpX

Banned
英雄メンバー / Eiyuu Menbaa / Hero Member
Reaction score
Country
Canada
Where have you been learning Japanese? In university, or self-taught?

What's your favorite Japanese meal?

akika

Banned
Reaction score
Country
United States
I first learned in university (took up to the fourth year level), but then I learned informally by living in Japan and studying on my own.

I like sushi and tempura, mostly. Also okonomiyaki and unagi don.

Xiphias

Manga Editor
中級員 / Chuukyuuin / Member
Reaction score
Country
United States
What's your favorite manga for each genre you listed (historical, horror, sci-fi and fantasy)?