Discussion - Learn by Doing -Haiku- | MangaHelpers

• Join in and nominate your favorite shows of the summer season 2023!

Discussion Learn by Doing -Haiku-

Syphilias

下級員 / Kakyuuin / Jr. Member
Reaction score
Country
United States
I would like to start a series of threads that are designed to be a place for students of the Japanese language to simply learn by doing. When you learned English, it was through day after day of writing down each letter: capital, undercase, until you could remember each and every one of them.

After learning all of the letters, you had a basic understanding of the sounds each of them made. After learning some rules about spelling and grammar, you started to write out your thoughts in a journal of some sort. The journal could have been an open ended one such as "what did you do over summer break" or could have been writing prompts such as "describe your dream house.

I am still new to the world of Japanese writing. Writing short poetry can help you to organize language into thoughts, either concrete or abstract. Eventually you can start flowing freely in writing after hours upon hours of reading and writing. Remember to continue reading, because without reading there can never be writing.

---------------------HAIKU----------------------

Forget everything you've learned about writing haikus. While it's good to keep a syllable pattern (3-5-3, 5-7-5, etc) you can stray from those rules. Haiku is simply Japanese poetry. Mine is about nature, and most haikus are, but use your imagination!

Anyway, enough English!!! Have fun writing Haikus. I know I did while writing this one.

---------------------
「漢字」

川の石  
今初めセット
すてきだぜ。

山の花
それはいいかな?
すてきだぜ。

だけど。。。
森のきのこは
怖い。。。

「ひらがな」

かわのいし
いまはじめセット
すてきだぜ。

やまのはな
それはいいかな?
すてきだぜ。

だけど。。。
もりのきのこは
こわい。。。

Ahh, I was hoping this would take off... Maybe if I add the element of translation, the lifeblood of the forums, others will join in!